top of page

The Chakras : Definition, localisation and function

"Open your chakras", you have surely heard this somewhat esoteric phrase, often taken up with irony and amusement by those who do not know their history. We will try a first approach with this article and discover the 7 main chakras. Indeed, it is not easy to feel their presence on the mat, especially if it is during a first class or if they are illustrious strangers to you.

So what are chakras?


A little point of terminology in Sanskrit: chakra means "wheel" or "disc", to designate circular objects and in a way the circle of life.

According to Hindu traditions, the body is made up of 72,000 energy channels, the nadis. They carry the vital energy of the body. These nadis intersect at the level of imperceptible centers which are about one hundred and in particular at the level of the chakras, subtle energy bodies. They are numerous but the main ones in yoga are 7 and correspond to precise zones of the body.

Location and function 

The chakras are not placed by chance and their purpose is to transport energy from the base of the body - the perineum - to the top of the head, along the spine via the invisible channel, in Sanskrit: susumna. This transported energy is the kundalini, asleep at the base of the body.

Yoga, meditation, awareness of our being, allow the kundalini to awaken and rise through the body, once each chakra is purified and released. This requires real work on each one: specific asanas, dedicated chakra breaths, mantra chanting, vibration, etc. Your practice can become a sādhana, a real journey in full consciousness to awaken the kundalini. It doesn't happen in 7 days, but it should be an exciting journey.

Explication of 7 chakras :

First chakra: Muladhara.Red, located at the level of the perineum, it is connected to the coccyx. This is the Root chakra, the base one. Its element: Earth. Its stones: onyx and carnelian.

Second chakra: Svadhishthana.Orange, located above the genitals, it is called the Sacred chakra. It is connected to the sacrum, at the base of the column. Its element: Water.

Third chakra: Manipura.Yellow, located between the solar plexus and the navel, it is the Solar chakra. It represents the gate of astral travel. Its element: Fire.

Fourth chakra: Anahata.Green, located in the middle of the chest, at the level of the heart, under the breastbone, it is the Heart chakra, place of love par excellence. Its element: Air. Its stones: rose quartz and aventurine.

Fifth chakra: Vishuddha.Turquoise or light blue, located at the level of the throat, where the thyroid gland is located, the Throat chakra is connected to the larynx. Its element: Ether, celestial space.

Sixth chakra: Ajna.Indigo blue, located between the two eyebrows, in the middle of the forehead, the third eye chakra is linked to the pituitary gland. Its element: the mind.

Seventh chakra: Sahasrara.Violet, located at the top of the head, where, in babies, the fontanel appears, the Crown chakra is linked to the epiphysis. Its element: the cosmos.

Kundalini Yoga practitioners identify an 8th chakra: it is the aura. White in color, it is 60 cm around the body. It is our personal magnetic field, it encompasses all of the chakras. It is a very powerful energy center, of protection and projection that is not fixed. As soon as you dress in white, you increase this aura by a few centimeters. Rock crystal can also help strengthen it. To be heard and seen, it is recommended to wear white. Beyond the virginal aspect, this color has an energetic symbolism. The dogma of religion has shattered the energetic aspect that existed before, but the Immaculate Conception is someone magnetic.

Strengthened by meditation, yoga and a healthy lifestyle, the aura can be polluted by the environment or toxic people (who are not necessarily aware of it).

0 views0 comments


bottom of page