top of page

5 Elements in Yoga

Updated: May 11

Prithvi (earth), Jal (water), Agni (fire), Vayu (air), and Akasha (ether or space)

Yoga is not just a physical practice; it is a holistic journey that encompasses the mind, body and spirit. One aspect of yoga that holds great significance is the exploration and integration of the five elements. In Ayurveda, the sister science of yoga and one of the oldest medical systems still practiced today, these five elements are prithvi (earth), jal (water), agni (fire), vayu (air) and akasha (ether or space). Each element carries its own energy and symbolism. These elements are believed to be the building blocks of the universe, both physically and energetically. 

Also, the elements correlate with the senses and with specific body parts and functions. Each has an energetic correspondent among the chakras. According to the Ayurvedic system, each of us is born with a unique combination of the five elements. Some are more dominant than others. The combination of elements that are most dominant in you make up your dosha. Air and ether make up vata dosha. Pitta dosha is the combination of fire and water. Kapha dosha is earth and water.

Each element is associated with specific qualities and characteristics that correspond to different aspects of the physical and energetic body in yoga. Earth is associated with stability and grounding, water with fluidity and adaptability, fire with transformation and energy, air with movement and expansion, and ether with space and consciousness.

The five elements are also related to the chakras, which are subtle energy centers in the body. The first chakra, located at the base of the spine, is associated with the earth element, while the second chakra, located in the pelvic area, is associated with the water element. The third chakra, located in the abdomen, is associated with the fire element, while the fourth chakra, located in the heart center, is associated with the air element. The fifth chakra, located in the throat, is associated with the ether element.

In yoga practice, understanding and balancing the five elements is an essential part of achieving physical and energetic balance. This can involve practices that resonate with each element, such as grounding poses for earth, flowing movements for water, heating practices for fire, pranayama for air, and meditation for ether.

FIRE ∼ agni

The fire element, known as Agni represents the energy of transformation, purification, and passion. Just as fire has the ability to transmute matter into energy, the fire element within us has the power to transform our thoughts, emotions, and actions. It is the catalyst for change and the driving force behind our willpower and determination. To awake your fire, try to extend the stamina in each position. Incorporate smooth transitions from pose to pose, such as sun salutations, or engage in vinyasa yoga. An important part of the practice is to support the strength of the body's center and rotation. Positions that will help you stimulate the fire are, for example, Plank Pose, Parivrtta Anjaneyasana Rotation, or Utkatasana (Chair Pose).

WATER ∼ jal

The water element is associated with fluidity, adaptability, creativity, and emotional balance. In yoga practice, integrating the water element can involve incorporating fluid movements, such as flowing sequences like the Sun Salutations or the Vinyasa flow style. These movements can help cultivate a sense of flow, grace, and ease in the body. There are also specific yoga postures that can be associated with the water element. Poses like Fish Pose (Matsyasana) or Dolphin Pose (Ardha Pincha Mayurasana) can help open the chest and the heart center, promoting emotional balance and harmony.

AIR ∼ vayu

Air element refers to specific yoga practices that aim to connect people to the qualities associated with lightness, clarity and movement. Some examples of yoga poses that can help connect to the air element include Sukhasana (Easy Pose), Adho Mukha Svanasana (Downward-Facing Dog), and Vrikshasana (Tree Pose). In addition to poses, Pranayana, or breath control, is an integral part of air element yoga. Overall, practicing air element yoga can provide a sense of centeredness, inner peace, and heightened awareness of the present moment.

EARTH ∼ prithvi

Earth element yoga or grounding yoga, aims to connect people to the qualities associated with the earth, such as stability, safety, security, and rootedness. Grounding yoga poses promote a connection with the physical body, and help to release tension, and energize the body. Some good grounding yoga poses to cultivate the Earth element include Tadasana (Mountain Pose), Vrksasana (Tree Pose), and supta baddha konasana (Supine Bound Angle Pose). By incorporating these poses, people can feel grounded and connected to the Earth element within themselves, which can bring feelings of calmness, inner peace, and presence.

ETHER or SPACE ∼ akasha 

The akasha element, often referred to as ether or space, holds a significant place in the world of yoga and spirituality. The akasha element represents the subtlest and most intangible aspect of creation. It is considered to be the primordial substance that pervades the entire universe. In yogic philosophy, the akasha element is believed to be the source of all the other elements - earth, water, fire, and air. It is the space within which all existence unfolds. Akasha is the foundation of creation. It is the space where thoughts, emotions, and experiences arise and dissolve.

2 views0 comments


bottom of page